As ever, there’s been more great music than we could possibly write about last month. The May roundup collects some of the best tunes that our radar has caught over the last few weeks. We start sketching some house and disco sketches figures, Nebraska’s ace filter-disco, a lovely reissue of Vincent Floyd and some ace material on Text, Future Times and the intriguing new Uniile imprint. Darkness falls midway through the playlist, with Galcher Lustwerk’s long-awaited Parlay, a lovely edit from Caribou as Daphni and two stellar cuts from J. Albert, who’s got our trophy for the most exciting new artist this year. We end with some spaced-out trips courtesy of Nicolas Jaar, JMMF and Lifted, with Minor Science’s dangerous bass flex accompanying the curtain fall.
Paxton Fettel – Afloat on a Sea of Nothing feat. Takuya Matsumoto
Nebraska – Emotional Rescue
Unknown Artist – A Jazz Thing
Mosey – Tuff Times
Joe – Thinkin About
Vincent Floyd – Get Up
Creta Kano – Skyway Motel
Panama Brown – Theme From Panama Racing Club
Cherushii – Wild Abandon
Galcher Lustwerk – Parlay
Daphni – Usha
J. Albert – Kiss The Ground
J. Albert – Vertigo Contracto
Luca Lozano & Mr. Ho – Dripbox
JMMF – Paraesthesia
Nicolas Jaar – The three sides of Audrey and why she’s all alone now
Lifted – Bell Slide
Farbror Resande Mac – Stockholmsnatt
Mark Barrott – Saviours Or Savages
Minor Science – Closing Acts